First, Love

I thought my first love was deep:

I could lose myself in puppy-love

When I was but a puddle.

Then as a teen I grew fond

Of another and thought that

That love was deep but

I was just a pond.

Then love made my spirit shake

When love made my limbs quake.

It must be real to feel so deep.

I found that this love was a mistake,

I found this out way too late…

When I was just a lake.

Then I met you.

When I met you, I let go of the lamppost.

I surrendered myself to the sky,

And a hurricane of emotion.

The love I found, found me first:

Hidden in the depths, a feral hunger and thirst.

Now the stars shine for us,

The planets dance for us,

A majestic, galactic motion.

Your eyes glow like hidden gold

So graceful, yet garish and bold.

Our love fills heaven like rain,

Bends light in colorful bows along the plain,

Now that we are an ocean.

Jefferson Holbrook, received a Doctor of Science in Communications in 2001. He also holds a Bachelor of Arts in English and a Bachelor of Arts in History as well as a Master of Arts in Organizational Management. He has published numerous essays, articles, poems, short stories and blogs. He is also the author of two collections of poetry. He lives in the southeastern United States.

Connect!

My First Blog:      http://jbhpoetry.blogspot.com/

 Twitter:               @JeffersonHolbr1  @HolbrookLord

 IG:                        jefferson.holbrook

 Facebook:           facebook.com/jeffersonh

© Copyright 2022 Jefferson Brian Holbrook and Kingdom of the Son. All rights reserved.

Leave a comment